Don Imus Returns to Radio Monday

Don Imus, who I admit to having never heard of before the controversy I and many others wrote about earlier this year involving the Rutgers Basketball team, will return to radio Dec. 3, 2007. According to MSNBC, Imus was paid his salary the entire time he was off air, effectively reducing his firing to a “well-paid leave.” An MSNBC poll also shows that 72% of the article readers think he should have his job back and that “the whole situation was blown out of proportion.”

President of WABC, Steve Borneman, had this to say about Imus’ return:

“We are ecstatic to bring Don Imus back to morning radio,” said WABC radio President and General Manager Steve Borneman. “Don’s unique brand of humor, knowledge of the issues and ability to attract big-name guests is unparalleled. He is rested, fired up and ready to do great radio.”

Once again, the message is loud and clear: white people are the real victims of hate crimes in the white imaginary. Don Imus insulted an entire team of black women along both race and gender lines and in so doing demeaned all of us. Yet it is his so-called firing that is the tragedy.

Now that the phrase he used has become a regular refrain in comedy sketches, comic strips, and other media outlets, he is to be rewarded with a return to radio. The fact that he was paid all along, and that many cried out for “justice for Imus,” from the beginning, only follows the pattern this blog and others have been tracking of the anti-justice justice movement in which justice and innocence are racially coded and afforded on specific racial lines.

I don’t know about you all, but I want real justice from my nation. When people support oppression or supremacy that is not justice. When Imus is paid his entire time off the air and then returned to the airwaves just in time for the holiday season, that is not justice. And when 72% of readers (all be it of only one article) believe it is, the wave of violent threats, unjust arrests, and violent acts against people of color will continue to be encouraged and condoned, rape, attempted murder, beatings, and false arrests are not justice.

5 thoughts on “Don Imus Returns to Radio Monday

  1. Do you know if the Rutgers women’s team are still receiving hate mail or death threats? Have they been able to recover from the controversy? The fact that they’re not even being considered in terms of getting “poll reactions” says volumes, I think.

  2. This is a normalization of racism in this nation. Maybe he could have Michael Richards on his first show. Since 9-11, racism in this nation, in my opinion, has gotten worse and has become more acceptable to the public at large.

  3. All I could say when I read the news was, “Yuck.”BTW: I found Howard Stern’s comments re: Imus’ return revealing and refreshing. I am not one who goes around giving props to shock jocks, but, Sten earned a prop from me.

  4. My…god……You ever get that feeling where you’re both shocked and not surprised all at the same time? Yeah….that’s how I feel. I am so sick and tired of White people putting up their hands and whining about being the victims of “reverse racism” when they’ve barely been called out for their self-centered privileged bullshit. Sorry for the language but I really have a hard time containing my rage when hearing news like this. I had NO CLUE that Imus was still getting PAID while off the radio. Ugh….I am just sending out my best wishes and hopes for the Rutgers team to heal from this and all the crap they’ve been getting from our White Supremacist society. I am so disgusted….I wish there was something more I could do. Is there?

Leave a Reply

