Free Book: Eli Clare’s Exile and Pride

Rather than post my multi-culti Pride pic again this weekend, I am offering readers a chance to get a free copy of Eli Clare’s Exile and Pride on (my favs) Southend Press. The book address a number of topics including sexuality, dis/ability, rural and urban divides, the class assumptions embedded in whiteness and queerness, gender, and so much more. I will be posting a longer review of the book as part of the series on dis/ability and queerness started here two weeks ago (I know I’m late in posting) but until then, you can read the description of the text at the link above. If you are in Arizona, you can also meet the author at the Society for Disability Studies Conference going on right now.

289_popup

If you want a chance at the book, all you have to do is tell me why you want the book AND how you will use it in your own life and/or community to raise awareness about diversity and (gay) pride.

(Our next Pride give away will be a DVD bundle for the boys: Were the World Mine, Latter Days, Shelter, & Boy Culture)

6 thoughts on “Free Book: Eli Clare’s Exile and Pride

  1. Well, I already have a copy, and it turns out that I’ve just sat down to figure out how to integrate some material from it into a large Phil 101 introductory course in philosophy for the Fall. (Eli visited here last year.) Result: I’m assigning a tutorial topic on “Freak Shows” and libertarianism, with about 10 pages on this (pp.71-81) as the required reading. I’m also going to use Eli’s “Gaping, Gawking, Staring” piece from GLQ in teaching a unit later in the course on existentialism, the self and others, as an optional reading. We’ll talk about “the look”, staring, and whether everybody is equally situated w.r.t. the phenomena of looking, gazing, staring. This will round out a thread that runs through the course on eugenics, human variation, human experimentation, and disability. The idea is to bring some of that lofty stuff on relativism, utilitarianism, Marxism, etc. back to everyday experiences, even if they’re not the experiences of the vast majority of students taking the course.

    • This sounds fascinating. I was unaware of the GLQ article and am looking it up as we speak. I usually teach the book for its thorough intro into why disability and feminism are not mutually exclusive (something that is hard for some to get) and its fascinating discussions of whiteness, spatial issues, and classism in “unlikely” locations. It is always a big hit with my students; they like it AND they are moved intellectually and emotionally by its content. If you haven’t taught it before, be prepared for some really great discussion!

      It is waaaay too early for pre-enrollment but if you have students who you know might take the class or be interested in reading the book but might not be able to afford it, steer them this way.

  2. Looking to expand my reading collection to include in the disability studies course I will be teaching in the fall. Specifically I am looking for more books that deal with disability and sexuality among other things. Very interested in reading more.

    • welcome to the blog K. The contest is going on here and thru Twitter and some folks are asking to have their bids remain anonymous, so when all the names are in I will let you know!

  3. I’d love a copy of Eli’s book. I am currently coordinating a CURA project at the University of Alberta, Dr. Rob Wilson is the PI. The project involves building a Living Archive on Eugenics in Western Canada and began from the question ‘What Sorts of People Should There Be?’ Eli’s book adds to the discuss and study – queerness and disability. I missed Eli’s talk in Edmonton but my partner attended and spoke at length with Eli.
    I would use the book to add the on-going blog
    http://whatsortsofpeople.wordpress.com/about/
    and would share it with undergraduate interns and graduate RAs!

    Thanks!

    • Hi moyralang. You certainly have a compelling reason to want a copy of the book. Unfortunately, this contest was posted and completed in June 2009. Best of luck with your current project!

Leave a Reply

