Black Woman raped, beaten, and abused in West Virginia

This story has not made my local news yet, so hat tip to Rachel’s Tavern for bringing this to my attention. An African American woman who was potentially lured to the home in which she was held captive by a man on the internet, was beaten, raped, stabbed repeatedly, and forced to eat animal feces and drink from the toilet for a period of one week. During her captivity she was told by one of two white women involved in the case that the reason for her torture was that she was black. Both white women involved in the case also involved their children, one son and one daughter, there are also several white men involved. The entire town has spoken out against the crime. You can read more here.

The number of torture and abduction of women and female youth by couples has seemingly increased of late. If you have access to statistics on this type of crime please let us know and leave a link here. Race crimes, as noted on my post about the Southern Poverty Law Statistics, have been on a steady rise since the start of the Bush administration.

9 thoughts on “Black Woman raped, beaten, and abused in West Virginia

  1. Something needs to be done about the series of events happening dealing with race. It is hard to express my reaction when I heard about the brutal beatings of this woman. It most definately made me want to be active on stopping this! I really hope that the people who did this merciless crime with PAY!!!

  2. The saga continues. First Duke Lacrosse, then Jena, then University of Maryland, and now West Virginia.Black women, be on guard! Ida B. Wells once said, she was “determined to sell my life as dearly as possible” and never went anywhere without her pistol tucked underneath her skirts. No, I’m not advocating gun ownership (she, afterall, lived in volatile times when black people were getting lynched left and right), but we’re also going to have to be just as determined to protect ourselves as dearly too. We cannot take these isolated (or not!) incidents lightly. The level of racism and misogyny combined is detrimental to black womanhood in this country. Be vigilant, my sistahs!

  3. OK, I read some more articles on this, and it seems the victim’s mother is implying that her daughter is mentally challenged. So, on top of the racial hate crime is possibly a crime against a disabled person. Why do I feel I need to brace myself for a much worse scenario as the story unfolds?😦

  4. I don’t know Anxious, alot of things I have been discussing these past few days are starting to make me sick or at least sick and tired of being sick and tired.Brandee – welcome to the blog.🙂

  5. Now, the latest news is that the victim had some kind of relationship with the young man, Bobby Brewster, since there was a report of domestic violence involving him and the young woman back in July?Duuuuuude!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. times west virginia took down their article so I have changed the link from a dead link to the article at the Washington Post. Apologies to those who clicked on the link and got nothing.

Leave a Reply

